Rise of the Phoenix

20130429-155342.jpg

I find it quite ridiculous that I always take such a long hiatus from writing on my blog, but I guess that’s what happens when you make yourself busy, no? Anyway, the important thing is that I still have this avenue where I can let all of my thoughts out so I won’t drive myself into insanity by holding so many things in this machine called my brain. Question pending: where do I begin?

Maybe I’ll start from where I left off in 2012. After interning for NewNowNext, I had the pleasure of continuing my writing for them for a good amount of time at that. I cannot explain how grateful I am for the plethora of experiences that opportunity had given me. It showed me that as much as I thought I knew my city–being born and raised here in New York–there is always something new to discover. I went to art exhibits, social gatherings, and other events that I couldn’t even fathom being able to attend on a normal day, and it gave me a sense of validity that the hard work I put in college was worth every paper and every minute of sleep I’ve lost. Although I don’t write for NewNowNext anymore (I’ll explain in a bit), it reassured me that aside from dancing, writing is something I definitely want to pursue.

So fast forwarding, I was actually blessed with not one, but two jobs at the time. The good part of this was I finally felt independent; I had my own income, didn’t have to stress my mother for money (not that I did that anyway), and it gave me something to keep me on my toes. The downside was unfortunately I didn’t have the same amount of time to dedicate to writing for NewNowNext, which ultimately led to the end of my days for them indirectly. Alas, one of the jobs ultimately wasn’t for me for a number of reasons. To keep it real, everything was negative about the work environment; the way things were ran, the false sense of entitlement that the clientele felt they had, just everything about it was wrong. With that being said, without hesitation or a second guess I quit. Luckily enough, I remained employed with my current job (American Eagle), and I couldn’t have been happier with staying with them. My coworkers are so much fun, the overall work environment is enjoyable, and each day I look forward to clocking in. I know the day that I leave, a part of me will be a little sad since I genuinely have had the best experience with them thus far.

Now, we’re at my current state of life. The year started off pretty great if you ask me; I turned 23, I have a job I could say that I love and appreciate, and to top it all off for my birthday I was able to experience Los Angeles, California with two of my best friends Will and Todd. I had a blast in LA! The scenery was phenomenal, the people were so welcoming, I even had a chance to meet my friend Alex that lives out there and he’s just as awesome in person as he is on Twitter. Going so far out to the West Coast made me even consider possibly moving out there one day, but of course there’s more cities that I will visit and experience in the future.

As I’m laying here in bed on my day off, I’m glad that I decided to reflect on the things that make me appreciate what living is about. I may not have my own place at the moment, I may not have a six figure job, but to be honest I have learned to be patient and the good things will follow. Patience is something that I have definitely struggled with, even to this day, but I’m learning more and more how to bide my time and just appreciate the past, the present, and what can possibly be in my future. There’s more work to be done, of course, but I’m looking forward to what my next steps are and where my next steps will take me.

Leave a comment